The Web 2.0 ego system

For the last few months I’ve been scrabbling around with pages of presentation slides, miscellaneous journal articles, blog posts and barely understandable data from high-brow research companies. The purpose was to try and explain Web 2.0 to the uninitiated, which is do-able at a simplistic, Wikipedia-style level. The problem comes when trying to explain the implication of social media upon brands. It helps if you can create an all-encompassing slide with lots of pretty logos which is why I was delighted to spot this diagram on Amelia Torode‘s blog.

It looks like the diagram hit the blogosphere here first, and I bet it’s going to crop up on a multitude of others before the next generation of Web 2.0 tools usurp the big fellas at the top of the pyramid (the way things move in this medium, that could be by the end of next week).

You’ll see various criticisms of the ranking method, not least because it uses Alexa, which I’ve never fully trusted anyway, but it’s a nice visual soundbite.

3 Responses to “The Web 2.0 ego system”


  1. 1 Amelia Torode April 20, 2007 at 10:35 am

    Thank you for the shout out. I agree, I liked the way that I could use this visual to bring to life Web 2.0 sites. The issue that you quite rightly highlighted is one of measurement, I am still not sure how we measure things like blog traffic when more and more people are interacting with content via RSS feeds

  2. 2 oldvic April 30, 2007 at 8:31 pm

    I think that if the audience is awed by this visual then they won’t be too concerned with its innaccuracies. I’m sure someone will soon come up with a more accurate visual representation.


  1. 1 A geek map of online communities « weakly thunk Trackback on May 2, 2007 at 1:16 pm

Leave a comment




Self-important bit

baby
I’m Victor Houghton, a, er... something or other in one of the UK’s largest advertising agencies. My job title has a comma in it, which is embarrassing. I’m the chief finder-things-outer with a splash of trends who is lucky to work with all the major functions of the agency, even though I am most closely associated with strategic planning. Everything in this blog has most probably been stolen from other, infinitely more talented people, although the opinions are most definitely my own and not those of the agency.

my del.icio.us

RSS

site stats